Your Daily Phil

Random weekend thoughts

Posted by lozenp on March 7, 2008

I’m one week into my iPod Touch trial. So far so good. I do enjoy the technology, no doubt. The question I have to answer for myself is do I want to keep it and forgo an iPhone in a year when my Verizon contract comes up, or take it back and hold out until Jan. 9, 2009. I’ve gone back and forth many times. I’m not up for buying an iPhone and jailbreaking it to use as an iPod so that’s not an option. Suggestions? Let me know.

Watched Pan’s Labyrinth on HD DVD yesterday while sick. Good movie, great HD DVD. Sound was amazing, especially in the scenes in the caverns and enclosed spaces. Great spatial representation. I’ll try to post a more extensive review over the weekend if my cold continues to regress. Also checked out Blade Runner but I was on several cold medications and pretty much dead-tired so I need to give that another viewing. Managed to pick up 300 and Bourne Identity for 10 bucks apiece at Hollywood video over the weekend, bringing my collection of soon-to-be-collectors item HD DVDs to eight.

My home theater PC is shaping up a little at a time. So far I’ve got it into my entertainment center, hooked up to my Samsung 50-inch DLP via VGA with a wireless keyboard/mouse combo. I ended up cancelling and restarting my Netflix under a different name to get full access to my four PCs again (I’ll be much more careful this time). We’ve enjoyed watching Heroes and 30 Rock from Netflix, video quality is suprisingly good, if a bit soft.

Still having trouble with HD content, be it from sites like KoldKast TV, Miro or via OTA broadcast. It’s the same issue with all content, very jumpy. I have a 512MB NVIDIA 7600 card so I don’t think it’s the graphics card. The only other thing I could think is I need more than the 1.5 MB RAM I have or that the 2.8 GHZ P4 I’m running is just too old to take it (the machine is probably 4 years old). Meanwhile my other PCs are torn apart while I “borrow” pieces to see if I can get this one running, since it’s the only machine with Windows Media Center in it. My next step is to take one of my bigger machines that have more RAM and put the TV tuner card in and just see if I can get HD content working in those. If so, I might just order a copy of Vista Home premium to get the Media Center feel.

If you’ve had experience with HD on PCs and have a suggestion, drop me a comment.

2 Responses to “Random weekend thoughts”

  1. Rich said

    After using the iphone for a week now….i say take the touch back and hold out as long as you can. The iphone is 10x better. It will be worth it. Especially in June when all the new apps start coming out. The iphone is going to be the best mobile platform for the next 10 years.

  2. JarkHD said

    I have a 2.8ghz 1GB of ram dell and also had some problems with HD content in Windows. VLC which is the most efficient content player is the player that is built into Miro so you probably can’t do much better than that. I was able to use this same machine in Linux and had less jumpiness. I used it for a frontend to a Linux based PVR solution called Mythtv and it worked without any lag. Have you tried reformatting Windows to see if that helped? The bottleneck is most likely not the ram but possibly the state Windows is in or your hard drive and or your processor speed.

    I can tell you that anything over 720p will definitely not work. 1080i was jumpy even in Linux and 1080p was a picture slideshow at about 1 frame per second.

Leave a Reply

 
