Your Daily Phil

New source for HD video on the web and the iPod Touch

Posted by lozenp on February 29, 2008

Couple quickies today:

First, I came across a piece recently about a new video service on the Web called Miro (it used to be the Democracy player). It’s an open source desktop application that works a little like iTunes. I haven’t had a ton of time to play with it yet, but I was able to download some HD content and it looked pretty good.

Basically there are channels that you can subscribe to, as well as being able to pull in video from YouTube, Google, etc. It looks very interesting, I’ll give a more full report in a little bit after I’ve had time to experiment more.

ipod-touch1.jpgSecond thing is I got an iPod Touch yesterday, the 8GB variety. I’m holding out hope that the rumors of a price drop on the 16GB and the removal of the 8GB will happen in the next 30 days so I can swap them out, but to be honest the extra 8GB is not essential to me.

So far I’m enjoying it quite a bit. I’m going to treat the 30 days as a trial period to make sure I’ll really take advantage of all it offers. So far I’m loving the instant access to the internet and email, and the video quality looks good but I haven’t watched anything yet of length.

Two things that popped out to me as things the iPhone has that the Touch doesn’t; a speaker (so no showing people YouTube vids without headphones) and a camera to easily add faces to the contacts. The Google Maps feature that allows you to pinpoint your location also doesn’t work, although Google Maps works just fine. That feature seems more of a cool to show people item than something really useful unless you travel a lot.

More on this as I get used to it. If you have a Touch (or an iPhone for that matter) let me know some of the cool apps you’ve downloaded and some tips on the best way to get video onto it.

5 Responses to “New source for HD video on the web and the iPod Touch”

  1. Rich said

    Congrats on the purchase. I love my touch ipod and think you’ll enjoy it. So you’re first question about apps. Well unless you jailbreak it, you can’t put any apps on it yet. (Next week apple is rumored to introduce the SDK roadmap, which will pave the way for third party apps on the iphone and touch ipod). Till then, you can run web based apps through safari when you have a wi-fi connection though. Check them out here… http://www.apple.com/webapps/

    About getting video on the touch. The first, obvious, and easiest way is through itunes. They actually have a lot of free content, podcasts and such. My favorites from that are, Mr. Diety, the Totally Rad Show, The best of youtube, Cranky geeks…there’s a bunch of stuff. Some good some so so.

    My favorite thing about the touch is putting movies and tv shows on it though to watch during lunch or downtime. I’ve not bought any from itunes. I mostly rip them from DVD’s or download a torrent every now and then. A sweet app that works well on Mac’s for ripping DVD’s is Handbrake. It’s open source and will work on Windows as well. It converts the file perfectly for your ipod format. For other videos that need to be converted I use an app called FFMPEGX. I think that’s Mac only right now. A windows alternative though would be Super, from eright (http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPERsnap1.html). Another alternative to handbrake for windows if you have problems getting it to work would be dvdshrink (Not as friendly as handbrake though). I went through the whole process with my aunt a couple weeks. Boy am I glad I own a Mac!!!

    Good luck and enjoy!

  2. best mp3 player for 2008
    http://astore.amazon.com/ipod.touch.accessories-20

  3. Leon said

    It’s cool! I am sure that everybody will love iPod Touch even more with the features you describe.

    For those who interest to find discount ipod accessories, please visit Apply Ipod Touch Accessories Store By Amazon.com

  4. Yeash!! I think every body can find Discount ipod touch from this link http://astore.amazon.com/ipod-touch.apple-20

  5. Alia Ovens said

    Alot of bloggers are not really pleased with this new iPad.There was 2 much hoopla about it and lots of blogers got turned off.Quite frankly, I can actually see some of the cool potential uses of the gizmo. Third-party soft for making music, games, newsprints and magazine and FFS books, all kinds of good stuff, but IMHO they just didn’t really sell it right (aside from the books). It looks kinda undercooked

Leave a Reply

 
