Your Daily Phil

A New Venture for Phil

Posted by lozenp on January 4, 2008

I’m not sure how many people have me in their RSS, or how many people read this since I haven’t posted since Reagan was president it seems, but I’m announcing a new venture for myself.

My biggest hobby is far and away consumer electronics, specifically in the high-definition and convergence areas. I love to tinker with my Xbox home media server. I love getting my copy of Home Theater Magazine, and my own personal RSS reader is full of content from consumer electronic sources. Starting this month, I’m adding myself to that list of sources.

I’m going to start a new blog, title to be determined but likely something like easyHD or something like that. The content will vary, but will center on items related to HDTV, high-def DVDs, video gaming, and home theater. I’ll post reviews of HD DVDs that I watch. I’ll post updates in the world of consumer electronics (such as today’s announcement that Warner Bros. studios will stop producing HD DVDs in May and go Blu-Ray exclusive, sniff). I’ll post updates on my own forays into media streaming. I’ll post guides to setting up your own home theaters, modest ones that is. I get a lot of questions from friends and family on setting up new receivers and computers, so I’ll post answers to those as well.

My goal is that eventually I find an audience with people who are not enthusiastic enough about this type of stuff that they read the AVS forums, but who want to have a nice home media setup that sounds and looks good without a lot of hassle and confusion. HD made easy. Hopefully I can build a reputation in SE Michigan and expand from there. Maybe eventually I can spin this into something more than a hobby. Maybe not. Only one way to find out, however.

So, if you have a suggestion for a title for the new blog, or for topics to cover, leave a comment. I’ll post more info here as I get this going.

Thanks for the support.

2 Responses to “A New Venture for Phil”

  1. Rich said

    That sounds great Phil. I’ll be the first to add you to my RSS feed as soon as you get up and going. I think HD made easy (or some variant) would be a great title. Best of luck.

    One thing that I think would be cool to learn about is how to make your media mobile. You know tv shows, music, movies, etc… For example I was reading an interesting article today about the new Sling box that’s coming out. I find that fascinating. In the future I hope that we have a lot more freedom with how and when we watch media content.

  2. Right on. Before I opened the comments, HD Made EZ was in my mind, too. Or maybe HD For Everyone. Or easyHD as you originally suggested. Or the HD Lounge. Or the HD EZchair.

    What I really want to know is how to replace my xbox that died. Fortunately, I had the replacement plan at BB, but unfortunately, they don’t have any 360’s anymore (at least, not the one’s with harddrives. And they’re not sure when they’re getting any more.

    But the website offers the elite version, still in stock (as of last night). Makes me wonder if something new is coming out. Some kind of cool new bundle, new upgraded hardware. Maybe Bill will unveil something, take the lid off, let the cat out of the bag on Sunday. Should I wait? Or should I jump on the last remaining elite and pay the extra $50 bucks.

    Of course, your blog may not be up in time to answer the question for me. So feel free to give me a call sometime. Call it 360’s for Dummies. Just don’t call it 360’s late for dinner…

Leave a Reply

 
