Your Daily Phil

Catching Up

Posted by lozenp on July 17, 2007

It’s been more than a month since my last post, I’ll admit, I’m lazy. I always have good intentions and so much I want to blog about, but when it comes down to 10 p.m. and I have some time to myself, I always end up finding other things to do. Anyhow, here’s what’s happened in the last month.

Amy’s had a lot of meetings to run, so I’ve been spending a lot of time with Jack by myself. It’s been a ton of fun, and work, but it’s been so cool to see him grow and change in this last month. Amy’s been working hard and I’m so proud of how well she does in her work.

Had a birthday, somewhere in the 30s, after 25, it’s just not exciting anymore until AARP benefits kick in at 65 (5 cent coffee at McDonald’s, here I come!) Spent a fun weekend at my parents with Jack after July 4. Amy and I could see Milan’s very impressive fireworks show from our deck.

Amy and I got to go to a movie together for the first time since Jack was born (thanks Ross and Angela). We saw License to Wed and had a lot of fun that night.  The movie was ok, but jsut to be out at a movie together we could have been watching paint dry and it would have been fun. Also saw Letters from Iwo Jima on HD DVD, excellent movie. So much better than Flags of our Fathers. And excellent on HD DVD, great sound, picture.

Amy and I are in the market for a new laptop. Hers is more than 5 years old I think and it’s her work computer so it’s about time to replace it. Waiting to see if any good sales come up. Also will likely get one of the new HD DVD calibration discs, either Silicon Optics HQV or Digital Video Essentials.

Very excited to hear that HBO is producing a Pacific War miniseries in the vein of Band of Brothers, currently called The Pacific, focusing on the War in the Pacific in WWII. Same people that made Band of Brothers as well, Steven Spielberg and Tom Hanks producing.

My friend Jesse is helping me get into flight sims with a cool birthday gift, and I can see how people get hooked.
Finally, got a very cool birthday gift from Amy. Since we needed a new video camera, we decided to use part of my birthday present on a Sony HDR-SR1 hard drive HD camcorder. It’s pretty sweet. It has a 30GB hard drive on the camera so I’ll never need a tape again. The video is great, it records 5.1 audio, takes still photos and best of all, IT’S HIGH DEFINITION! Another cool bonus, I can output the HD video on my PC and play it in the living room on my HD TV via my XBox 360 giving me HD video of Jack playing at grandmas, for instance. I’ll post a Windows Media Video (WMV) HD clip for download on the blog this week that you can download and play on your PC to see the quality. If you have a 360, you can play it in HD on your own TV using the 360’s media blade.

That about catches us up. I’m hoping to do more frequent, short posts this month coming to stay on top of things. I still haven’t posted anything really about WWII, which is one of my biggest hobbies so I’d like to get something out about that.

3 Responses to “Catching Up”

  1. CJ said

    This may be a loaded question but what is an HD TV? I watched the video about your new camera….and apparently I need an HD TV huh? Do I already have one Phil? Whaaaatisatttt? CJ

  2. laurie said

    I was very happy to see another post…like I have anything to talk about with no blog of my own….but I must say….you do get me wishing for a new computer, video camera and HD TV. We can’t seem to keep up but that’s okay…for now my kids are in HD real time right in front of me…wish my head had a card to record some of it..love haring from you….love ya tons!!!

    Laurie

  3. Melina said

    very interesting. i’m adding in RSS Reader

Leave a Reply

 
