Your Daily Phil

Why do I watch?

Posted by lozenp on April 24, 2007

I’m that close. For five years now, Monday nights were sacred. At 9 p.m. (or sometime after that once Tivo came around) I hung out with the coolest dude on the planet.

We went on wild adventures together, took amazing trips around the country, and killed a few bad guys in the meantime. Me and Jack Bauer, nothing kept us apart.

Now don’t get me wrong, the plots, timelines, Jack’s amazing ability to travel from Mexico to LA in minutes via helicopter, all were hard to swallow. But it never mattered. It was all about the ride, and one heck of a ride it was.

Until this year, after a beginning that left me breathless, the show has nearly lost me. I find that it usually ends up as the last show I watch on the DVR, sometimes with a couple episodes stacked up. And when I do watch, like I am now, I find myself doing something else, like blogging.

It’s just too much this season. The same thing. Jack goes rogue, double agents in CTU, Jack’s loved one in trouble, a duplicitous vice president, traitors. I’ve seen this season at least twice already. I’m going to give it one more week, but that’s about it.

At least I can still spend time with one of my favorite 24 alums, David Palmer (the prez), on one of the best shows currently on tv, The Unit.

3 Responses to “Why do I watch?”

  1. Rich said

    I agree with you. I already gave up. Don’t tell Mark it will break his heart.

  2. Mark said

    My heart is not broken.

    I was disappointed.

    24 and the Pistons are kind of in this stale funk.

    They both have an incredible and significant history.

    They both have really strong starring casts.

    Joe Dumars and David Palmer have some similarities.

    Chauncey and Jack have some big shot tendencies.

    Rasheed is a mole.

    Ok so this is a stretch but two very powerful entertainment forces have become stale because they take for granted that it takes drive and passion to be good instead both have taken on an air of entitlement.

    I am a sucker though…
    I will be watching the Pistons again no matter what
    and yes I will watch 24 but and it is a big butt…I will not buy season 6 of 24 the day it comes out.

  3. Mark said

    not sure why I typed “big butt” what I meant to type is a big BUT

Leave a Reply

 
