Your Daily Phil

The way back machine

Posted by lozenp on February 28, 2007

So I’ve been recording News Radio on my DVR lately. For those of you who don’t remember the show, it was a show from the mid-90s featuring Dave Foley (of Kids in the Hall fame) and Phil Hartman, as well as Steven Root, who’s been in a million things but you probably know him as Milton the stapler guy from Office Space.

It’s a classic show, vastly underrated, and the last thing Hartman did before his untimely death (the show after his death is very good, and very emotional). If you haven’t watched it, set your Tivo for 1 p.m. on TBS during the week.

Got me thinking about classic old TV. Shows I miss that I used to love include Moonlighting, a first of it’s kind and the career-launch for Bruce Willis, Family Ties, hilarious sitcom with Michael J. Fox, neither of the shows are on TV right now, although I do have Moonlighting DVDs.

Shows that I loved that I thought got cancelled way to early include Ed, the bowling alley lawyer show from 2000-2004, Love Monkey, a short-lived show about the music biz from last year, and The Nine, a serialized drama from this season about a bank heist that seems to have been dumped.

Nothing tops the loss of American Dreams, however. This was such a great, family show set in the 60s. Great music, great acting, set in a very tumultuous time in American history (the Kennedy assassination, Vietnam, the race riots in Philly in ’64 were all backdrops for the show). Amy and I had rented the DVDs recently and every time we watched a show, I realize how different things are today than just 40 years ago. If you haven’t seen it and enjoy great drama, I highly recommend it.

Any shows that you miss or thought earned an undeserved dismissal from prime-time?

4 Responses to “The way back machine”

  1. Rich said

    Loved Ed, and got into Love Monkey when they replayed all the episodes on VH1. Only after I was hooked did I discover it was cancelled. I’m ever the late comer.

    I did enjoy American Dreams for a while, but somewhere the story become disinteresting so I tuned out. I take partial responsibility for it being cancelled.

    I was disappointed that Invasion was cancelled last year. I also remember this vampire show on fox about 5 or 6 years ago that I really loved, but I can’t think of the name? Also the show with Benjamin Bratt last year, E-Wing, I liked that.

    Can’t think of many that I miss…

  2. amyclozen said

    buffy the vampire slayer?

  3. Laurie said

    listen, us oldies but goodies have loads of them…but now I’m looking up the actors so I can remember the names of the shows….never grow old!Coming back at you soon!

  4. Rich said

    No. It wasn’t buffy the vampire slayer. I can’t remember the name and when I tried searching for it came up with nothing. It was like a vampire/mafia type show. Two opposing sides, one good one evil duking it out. It only lasted like 6 episodes.

Leave a Reply

 
